Real size ingame resolution option

Got a great idea or a proposal for us? Post it here and discuss it with others!
User avatar
Jesper
Village Idiot
Posts: 1838
Joined: August 15, 2007, 01:10:33 PM
Character: Slurpy
Clan: Ironfist
Location: Sweden

August 12, 2013, 03:41:11 PM

This is something I've thought about ever since I became interested in spriting. When you're playing the game, the client allows you to adjust your window so you can play the game in whatever size you want, and so because of this there's is some graphic function which I don't know the name of, that adjusts the graphic accordingly so it wont look like pixels are out of order.

Without this it would look odd if you change the graphic from 100% size to 123,5%. Some pixels would get bigger, while some would stay the same. It would looked messed up.

But in my honest opinion, this graphic function also destroys the feeling of pixel art. It smooths everything up, blurs it and takes away the look that pixel artists hold so dear. That clean look the sprite had when you where making it.

A picture to illustrate what I mean. Phobos ingame screenshot in 200% size. No GUI. Click for full size.

Image

I would like to be able to play the game without this function. In real size resolution. 100% or 200%. I would like to experience the graphics as they where made. A game drawn by pixel artists, and seen as pixel art. I know this would not work for everyone since resolution varies a lot and only computers that allows high resolution would be able to play it in 200%. And it would probably be a windowed option.

This would of course just be an option. But I think many people would appreciate it.
Agent Green
Tester
Posts: 972
Joined: June 10, 2008, 08:55:09 PM
Character: Agent Green
Clan: Order of the Beetle
Location: England

August 12, 2013, 05:59:49 PM

So you want either 100% or 200% size options and nothing else? or just 100%? I couldn't understand which you meant.

I would say you need the 200% but could they just not add in selectable resolutions? Then you can have it in perfect 200% but somebody else can have the horrible 125.3345t23% whatever.
Andre
Staff
Posts: 3764
Joined: June 16, 2008, 04:08:47 PM
Character: Andre

August 12, 2013, 06:14:01 PM

Guess Slurpy wants a resolution that makes it able for him to study/fall in love with in-game sprites at pixel level. I guess our shrinking option can grant u this Slurpy, not at 100% pixel size but small enough so you can study the principles.
:gangster:
User avatar
Jesper
Village Idiot
Posts: 1838
Joined: August 15, 2007, 01:10:33 PM
Character: Slurpy
Clan: Ironfist
Location: Sweden

August 12, 2013, 07:29:21 PM

Agent Green wrote:So you want either 100% or 200% size options and nothing else? or just 100%? I couldn't understand which you meant.

I would say you need the 200% but could they just not add in selectable resolutions? Then you can have it in perfect 200% but somebody else can have the horrible 125.3345t23% whatever.
Im talking about fixed resolution. The sprites was made in a certain amount of pixels. 100% is the original sprite resolution. 200% would be twice as big, but nothing has changed. Anything between just stretches the sprite, leaving pixels that was not made by the original spriter.

The resolution on your monitor will only change the size of the client window.

I want to be able to play in 100% fixed resolution or 200% with no way to adjust the client window size, leaving every single pixel intact.
Agent Green
Tester
Posts: 972
Joined: June 10, 2008, 08:55:09 PM
Character: Agent Green
Clan: Order of the Beetle
Location: England

August 12, 2013, 09:03:04 PM

So even if you can have the choice to put it at set values you want to stop everybody else being able to play at whatever stretch they see fit xD

Pixels are displayed on monitors differently and your brain fills in the rest, LCD monitors only have three colours :shock: :?

I am not saying you are wrong, if they had the option I would probably just play at 200% but why does everybody else have to?

Comparison. 200&213% Don't know if the ingame stretch works the same as me in photoshop
resolution1.png
resolution1.png (15.29 KiB) Viewed 12671 times
User avatar
Jesper
Village Idiot
Posts: 1838
Joined: August 15, 2007, 01:10:33 PM
Character: Slurpy
Clan: Ironfist
Location: Sweden

August 12, 2013, 09:31:31 PM

Agent Green wrote:So even if you can have the choice to put it at set values you want to stop everybody else being able to play at whatever stretch they see fit xD
No I do not. Read my first post again. I said that this could be an option. Someone could use the fixed 100 or 200% resolution as an option, or they could just use the function that exists now.

And If you look closely and compare the 213% to the 200% version, you'll see that the 213% version has lost some of it cleanliness.
Agent Green
Tester
Posts: 972
Joined: June 10, 2008, 08:55:09 PM
Character: Agent Green
Clan: Order of the Beetle
Location: England

August 12, 2013, 10:06:18 PM

xD my bad, I thought you were just being a sprite connoisseur. I should have read the first post better. Then I saw this and it sounds like there is no option :oops:
Slurpy wrote: I want to be able to play in 100% fixed resolution or 200% with no way to adjust the client window size, leaving every single pixel intact.
User avatar
Ricardo
Tester
Posts: 338
Joined: August 16, 2007, 05:37:41 PM
Character: Ricardo
Location: Brazil

August 13, 2013, 02:16:12 AM

The other 45º perspective mud game, named after a bone, has this option "don't stretch/shrink the screen" which fix the sprites at their real size. I think Phobos also had this option, but I can't really remember, last time I played was years ago.

Anyway, I like the idea of having this option. I usually don't play at the fixed size, but I like to take all my screenshots and make movies at the fixed sprite size, as it is the "canon" at which everything looks beautiful and smooth, exactly the size at which the artists conceived their work at.
User avatar
Jesper
Village Idiot
Posts: 1838
Joined: August 15, 2007, 01:10:33 PM
Character: Slurpy
Clan: Ironfist
Location: Sweden

August 13, 2013, 10:46:49 AM

So I tried putting the 200% game window in René's GUI. The picture became exactly 1493x1018 pixels, which means its too long vertically for most computers.

Image

Click for full size
Robbert
Administrator
Posts: 2244
Joined: March 30, 2006, 03:55:59 PM
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

August 18, 2013, 01:38:09 PM

Your prayers have been answered.
Stian
Tester
Posts: 1679
Joined: May 15, 2007, 08:39:27 PM
Location: Oslo, Norway

August 18, 2013, 02:19:05 PM

Robbert wrote:Your prays have been answered.
All praise Robbert, the God of Scaling Pixels!
:king:
User avatar
Jesper
Village Idiot
Posts: 1838
Joined: August 15, 2007, 01:10:33 PM
Character: Slurpy
Clan: Ironfist
Location: Sweden

August 18, 2013, 04:46:47 PM

Robbert wrote:Your prayers have been answered.
:like:

Thank you. I will now take billions of screenshots while playing =)
Robbert
Administrator
Posts: 2244
Joined: March 30, 2006, 03:55:59 PM
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

August 18, 2013, 04:56:24 PM

We've got a screenshot function, CTRL + P, so you can automaticly make screenshots of the gamefield (or the entire game, inc UI if you like). No more cutting :)
jhonnyot
Tester
Posts: 58
Joined: October 19, 2008, 09:47:48 PM
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

August 18, 2013, 05:30:14 PM

That is even better for those who, like me, have 2 monitors. Whenever I screeshot something I have to crop out one of the screens, which is really annoying :p
Agent Green
Tester
Posts: 972
Joined: June 10, 2008, 08:55:09 PM
Character: Agent Green
Clan: Order of the Beetle
Location: England

August 18, 2013, 05:54:27 PM

Nice features :like:

Wut... You get both monitors in the ss? I have two but it always just captures my main screen. :confused:
Post Reply