Starters guide?

Want to hear the latest rumours about Phobos? Or just want to talk with others about Phobos? Enter the Common Room!
Post Reply
Posts: 2
Joined: July 04, 2010, 04:18:51 PM

December 15, 2019, 11:54:38 PM

Hi. Anyone got starters guide? I just created account in game and have no idea what to do. At what level I can become sorcerer? Is there any disadvances becoming sorcerer at level 1 instead of like being 10 level citizen first.. where and how I do this.. etc. No info anywhere. First steps? :?
Agent Green
Posts: 972
Joined: June 10, 2008, 08:55:09 PM
Character: Agent Green
Clan: Order of the Beetle
Location: England

December 20, 2019, 08:01:28 AM

You have to go Citizen > Apprentice > Sorcerer

This post is not exactly accurate as it's from like 7 years ago xD
Rob wrote:
February 05, 2012, 11:14:32 PM
ImageClasses IImage

This month we'd like to introduce the class system that we’ll be using. Admittedly, and in true Myth Entertainment style, this is not the first time a Phobos class system has been teased! However I’ll explain the reasons for this below. But you can be sure that this is the class system we’ll be using at release. This post will also go into considerably more depth about the system overall than those in the past.

Tier 1
There is only one tier 1 class, and it's the class that all players start out as: the citizen. Citizens are unable to learn any spells or feats and are only allowed to leave the starting area, Timar, once they have been promoted to a tier 2 class.

There are two ways for players to get this first promotion. The main way we expect players to get it is by completing a set of quests for one of the guild leaders in Timari. I don’t want to go into too much detail with it, but basically there will be three stages of quests that a player has to complete. There will be several possible quests available to the player to complete at each stage, so players will get some choice about which quest they want to complete. The first of these quests shouldn’t take longer than about 5 minutes, I’ll call this the ‘easy quest’. The second is designed to encourage the player to leave Timari and explore a little, I’ll call this the ‘explorer quest’. The third will require the player to complete a quest for an NPC who isn’t the guild leader, the ‘helper quest’.

The alternative to the quest route is to simply to level your character up to level 10, at which point the guild leaders will happily promote any player.

However, if going for the quest option, most players will be promoted by around level 6 without too much trouble, and an experienced player might even be able to get promoted by level 4 or 5. Don’t worry though, powergamers, the level difference between players for this first promotion won’t mean anything in the long term. The idea is that it means that new players will spend longer in Timar. More experienced players usually won’t have to spend more than an hour in there, getting their first few levels against weak creatures, before leaving the safety of the Timar valley. They don't have to leave though, of course.

Tier 2
Those of you who have been following our progress for a long time will remember how in the old system we had three options for the first promotion: the close-combat page, magic-using apprentice, and distance-combat scout.

However after a lot of discussion (like literally YEARS of arguing about it), we came to the conclusion that actually the scout wasn’t going to work as a whole class branch; there simply wasn’t enough variety for it without things getting very confusing for the player and so balancing it, whilst making sure that the scout was still an interesting class to play, was going to be impossible. So instead we merged the distance-fighting aspect of the scout into the page. So players get the choice of becoming either page or apprentice; with the page acting as a physical-combat class and the apprentice still as the magical-combat class.

Tier 3
Later on in the game, players may be promoted again and become more specialised. The full list of tier 3 classes is as follows: Knight, Rogue, Marksman, Ranger, Cleric, Shaman, Wizard, Sorcerer. However the classes available to a player in this second promotion depend on whether that player first became a page or apprentice.

So, the full class tree for tiers 1-3 will look a little something like this:
Detailed class descriptions will be added with concept images in a few weeks’ time. Until then, feel free to suggest/discuss/argue/rage over likely class profiles, spells and the overall class system described here.

Post Reply